Melton Constable Parish Council | Kirsty Cotgrove (Parish Clerk) - 01263 587755 | clerkmeltonpc@gmail.com

Site developed and supported  by www.stevejackman.me

Parish Council Meetings

Minutes of Parish Council meetings are available to read between one to two weeks after a council meeting. They are published in draft form and approved at the next council meeting. Agendas are published the week before a Tuesday meeting. A copy is also displayed on the noticeboard.

 

Venue: The Parish Council meets at the Country Club, at 7.30 pm usually on the second Tuesday of the month.

 

Anyone is welcome to attend the meetings but whilst members of the public cannot participate a short period of time is given for members of the public to air their views on matters directly related to the Parish Council.

 

Council meeting dates for 2018

Tuesday 9th January

Tuesday 13th February

Tuesday 6th March

Wednesday 4th April - PARISH MEETING

Tuesday 10th April

Tuesday 8th May - Annual Parish Council Meeting 

Tuesday 12th June

Tuesday 10th July

Tuesday 14th August

Tuesday 11th September

Tuesday 9th October

Tuesday 13th November

Tuesday 11th December

The Role of the Clerk

 

The Clerk is the ‘Proper Officer’ of the Council who is responsible for the smooth running of the Council’s business. He/she is the first point of contact for the Council and all correspondence comes to the Clerk. Responsibility for implementing the decisions of the Council rests with the Clerk along with giving professional guidance where necessary whilst remaining neutral and discrete. The Clerk is also responsible for financial management.

 

The Clerk prepares, circulates and displays agendas in public places. She/he signs notices and summonses with a list of business to be transacted but does not have the power to fix the meetings of the Council. The Clerk is required to attend meetings, take minutes, keep Council minutes in a book and hold other documents.

 

A member of the Council may be appointed as Clerk without remuneration but nowadays it is more usual to appoint someone who is not a councillor to be paid for the work they undertake.